top of page

During the colonial period, French Indochina - as it was known - was divided into five administrative regions: Laos, Cambodia, Tonkin (Northern Vietnam), Annam (Central Vietnam) and Cochinchina (Southern Vietnam).

Following the French defeat in 1954, Vietnam was divided at the 17th parallel between North and South Vietnam.


Cambodia and Laos gained independence in 1953.

Maps by

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page
bottom of page